EAAB Educational Requirements

EAAB Educational Requirements

The Further Education and Training Certificate in Real Estate is an NQF registered qualification (SAQA Reg. No 59097) Level 4. This qualification is for any individual who is or wishes to be involved in the property and real estate industry. It serves to support and advance the functioning individuals in our industry. The following sectors in real estate require Property Practitioners to comply with the educational requirements:

  • Residential sales agents
  • Commercial and/or industrial agents
  • Business brokers
  • Rental agents (residential & holiday letting)
  • Managing agents
  • Property admin agents
  • Time share consultants
  • Auctioneers of immovable property
  • Farm sale brokers

As of 15 July 2008, Regulation 633 of the Estate Agency Affairs Act of 1976, has been enforced and all estate agents must complete an NQF qualification and write their Estate Agents Board Examination (and pass) in order to work as an Estate Agent in South Africa.

All estate agents and principals who held a valid Fidelity Fund Certificate on 15 July 2008, are now required by law, to achieve a formal Real Estate Qualification at NQF Level 4 (non principal agents) and NQF Level 5 (principal agents), if they want to legally practice as estate agents in South Africa.

The EAAB educational requirements for all Intern/ Candidate estate agents registered after 1 January 2013 are as follows:

  • UNIT 1 | Complete NQF 4 qualification in Real Estate
  • UNIT 2 | Complete EAAB logbook which outlines practical & theoretical interaction in the real estate industry
  • UNIT 3 | Write and pass the Professional Designation Examination (PDE4)

If you have any questions relating to the EAAB educational requirements, please contact us on 021 976 8848 or send us an e-mail by clicking on the icon below.

Stay in touch with us